Make your own free website on
1997 FORMULA ONE Points Leaders
World Drivers' Championship Points
Place Driver's Name Points
1 Michael Schumacher 56
2 Jacques Villeneuve 53
3 Jean Alesi 22
4 Gerhard Berger 20
5 Heinz-Harald Frentzen 19
6 Eddie Irvine 18
7 Oliver Panis 15
8 David Coulthard 14
8 Mika Hakkinen 14
10 Ralf Schumacher 11
10 Johnnie Herbert 11
12 Giancarlo Fisichella 8
13 Damon Hill 7
14 Rubens Barrichello 6
15 Alexander Wurz 4
16 Jarno Trulli  3
17 Mika Salo 2
17 Shinji Nakano 2
19 Nicola Larini 1
Constructor's Championship Points
Team Points
Ferrari 74
Williams 72
Benetton-Renault 46
Prost 20
Jordan 19
Sauber-Petronas 12
Arrows 7
Stewart 6
Tyrrell 2
Points System
Points are granted to the top six finishers in each World Driving Championship grand prix event. The event winner is awarded 10 points, with six going to the runner up and four going to the third-place finisher. Fourth place is awarded three points, with two points going to fifth and one point for sixth.
1997 Formula One Teams
(Oliver Panis (who broke both his legs in Canada) has been replaced by Jarno Trulli. Filling in for Trulli at Minardi is Tarso Marques. Gerhard Berger was replaced by Alexander Wurz for a couple of races, but has started racing again. Another injured driver, Gianni Morbidelli of Italy, will be replaced at Sauber by Argentine Norberto Fontana. I am going to keep the profiles where they are, because it is too much work to shift them around, to make sure you read this over if you don't understand why someone is on a team that they shouldn't be on.)
Team Engine Tire Type Drivers
Arrows Yamaha Bridgestone Damon Hill #1 

Pedro Diniz #2

Benetton Renault Goodyear Jean Alesi #7 

Gerhard Berger #8

Ferrari Ferrari Goodyear Michael Schumacher #5 

Eddie Irvine #6

Jordan  Peugeot Goodyear Ralf Schumacher #11 

Giancarlo Fisichella #12

Minardi  Hart Bridgestone Jarno Trulli #20 

Ukyo Katayama #21

Prost Mugen-Honda Bridgestone Shinji Nakano 

Oliver Panis

Sauber  Ferrari Goodyear Johnny Herbert #16 

Gianni Morbidelli

Stewart  Ford V10 Bridgestone Jan Magnussen #22 

Rubens Barrichello #23

Tyrrell Ford Goodyear Jos Verstappen #18 

Mika Salo #19

Williams  Renault Goodyear Jacques Villeneuve #3 

Heinz-Harald Frentzen #4