Make your own free website on
German Grand Prix
July 27, 1997 - Hockenheim ring - Hockenheim, Germany
Damon Hill 1996 Winner
Past Winners
Gerhard Berger wins German Grand Prix
Austrian Gerhard Berger's return to racing after a three-week absence was a triumphant one, as he captured today's Formula One German Grand Prix at the Hockenheimring in Hockenheim, Germany.

The 37-year-old Berger, who led the field from the pole position, had missed three races due to a sinus operation and the death of his father, but he came back strong today, guiding his Renault to his second German Grand Prix victory in the 45-lap race. Berger, the 1994 champion, announced Thursday he would be leaving Team Benetton after this season.

Crowd favorite Michael Schumacher, the 1995 champion, finished second in his Ferrari but more importantly, gained six points in the race for the Formula One Driving Championship and leads Canada's Jacques Villeneuve by 10 points.

Finland's Mika Hakkinen posted his first podium finish since last year's Australian Grand Prix by finishing third for McLaren. Italy's Jarno Trulli placed fourth for Prost; Ralf Schumacher was fifth for Jordan; and Berger's Benetton teammate, Frenchman Jean Alesi, finished sixth.

Italy's Giancarlo Fisichella of Italy, who Benetton signed this week to replace Berger, was in second place with six laps remaining before suffering a punctured tire in his Jordan-Peugeot.

It was a bad day for the Williams-Renault racing team, as Villeneuve, who won the British Grand Prix two weeks ago, and Germany's Heinz-Harald Frentzen both had to drop out of the race. Williams-Renault was seeking its fifth victory in seven years at this race.

Finish Name Team Time
1 Gerhard Berger (Austria) Benetton  1:20:59:046 
2 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Ferrari 17.527 seconds behind
3 Mika Hakkinen (Finland) McLaren 24.770 seconds
Jarno Trulli (Italy) Prost 27.165
5 Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Jordan 29.995
6 Jean Alesi (France) Benetton  34.717
7 Shinji Nakano (Japan) Prost 1:19.722
8 Damon Hill (Britain) Arrows one lap
Norberto Fontana (Argentina) Sauber one lap
10 Jos Verstappen (Netherlands) Tyrrell one lap
not classified (did not finish)
11 Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Jordan  40 laps completed
12 Jacques Villeneuve (Canada) Williams  33
13  Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Stewart 33
14 Mika Salo (Finland) Tyrrell  33
15 Jan Magnussen (Denmark) Stewart 27
16 Ukyo Katayama (Japan) Minardi 23
17 Johnny Herbert (Britain) Sauber 8
18 Pedro Diniz (Brazil) Arrows  8
19 David Coulthard (Britain) McLaren 1
20 Heinz-Harald Frentzen (Germany) Williams  1
21 Eddie Irvine (Britain) Ferrari 1
22 Tarso Marques (Brazil) Minardi 0
Fastest lap: Berger one minute 45.747 seconds (average speed 232.278kph)