Make your own free website on

Austrian Grand Prix

September 21, 1997 - A1 Ring - Zeltwig, Austria

Nigel Mansell 1987 Winner

Past Winners




It's been 10 years since a Formula One race was held in Austria. This year, the A-1 ring - formerly known as the Österreichring - is revived for the Austrian Grand Prix. The circuit has been radically revised and modernized for this return. The original Österreichring was constructed in 1968 and was a particularly fast venue for a succession of Formula One Grand Prix - between 1970 and 1987 , a total of 18 were held, with the final event of that period needing three starts to finally get it underway.